Author Topic: STAW Nebula Class - A postmortem  (Read 1468 times)

Badi_Dea

• Ensign
  • Number of Times Thanked: 0
    • View Profile
STAW Nebula Class - A postmortem
« on: January 30, 2016, 08:37:33 pm »
Hi all! love the work you guys are posting; however I'm still learning, and hoping for some useful pointers.
I painted this Nebula class from Star Trek Attack Wing last night. The first thing to consider is that these minis vary GREATLY in quality, ranging from god-awful to almost decent. The second thing to consider is that they are pre-painted, and don't seem to take well to being stripped, so these are paint-overs.

I didn't think to take a picture of what it looked like before the paint, so here's one from the Internet: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-J-VyJG8V_J0/VgB7r_J-k6I/AAAAAAAAiLU/pbJ683dA8Hs/s1600/2015-09-18%2B14.32.10.jpg

Base coat, I think I managed to get this thinned properly, it took two coats to cover all the shiny stuff.

Started painting all the little details. I used Armor Celestra Gray for the darker bits - I think this was a mistake.
I painted the red and blue for the nacelles in this step purposely, prior to the dry brush. I think it gives it a nice degree of haze over the parts where they meet. Not to mention that it makes it easier to correct overflow mistakes.

Dry brushed with just regular white, I could never get good results with the clumpy white made specifically for dry brushing.

Tiny details added, Phaser arrays/Escape Pods/various greebly bits.
I went back over the nacelles to get rid of the white spots and bring the color up a little.