Author Topic: how do the french play?  (Read 1293 times)

aktr

• Ensign
  • Number of Times Thanked: 0
    • View Profile
how do the french play?
« on: September 22, 2017, 06:14:48 am »
Hi,

I'm fairly new to DW (kind of, see my roll call post)

Anyway I'm half way through painting my FSA which of course means my thoughts are turning to my next fleet

I'm contemplating the French (mostly because the get floaty boats) but I'm not sure how they will play

so what is there play style like?

Cheers

Andy

Quickdraw

• Commander
  • Number of Times Thanked: 8
    • View Profile
Re: how do the french play?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2017, 07:56:04 am »
The French have a really nice “customization is key” fleet. They have a lot of ship options with a lot of possible fleet compositions to do different things. For instance, I used to often build a slow, defensive fleet that was able to get decent AD numbers from heat lance attacks and stay at arms length. More recently I’ve been building a very fast and aggressive fleet that is great at decimating squadrons with close range gunnery and then boarding.
I’ll list out some fun tricks and features that the French have.
  • Heat lance weapons, only fleet to have them, tons of bonuses when attacking
  • Almost all secondary weapons, most squadrons can link all of their weapons in one attack
  • Cloud generators, the large ships are hit on a 5, this gives your opponent a real headache
  • High AA values and redoubtable AA, you almost don’t have to worry about rockets or SAS...almost
I think the French are a really fun fleet to play. I always feel like I’m able to try new stuff instead of getting locked into the “only one good strategy” mindset.

Amiral X

• Ensign
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2017, 08:56:14 am »
As a RoF player I would add to the above comments (that are perfectly exact !) a few thing :