Author Topic: Glues...  (Read 1348 times)

markymark1970

• Commander
  • Number of Times Thanked: 15
    • View Profile
Glues...
« on: January 28, 2017, 03:11:09 pm »
Ok, total noob question, but I am a level 25 Master Collector of miniatures and a level 1 initiate at assembling and painting. Do you guys have favorite glues that you like to use?  Plastic, resin and or metal specific ones?  Gap filling, quick and normal cure?  What else should I need to know?  Besides the various super glues you can get anywhere, there are the Bob Smith Industries which I've used and the Gale force Nine super glue.

Thoughts and opinions?

McKInstry

• Lieutenant
  • Number of Times Thanked: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Glues...
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2017, 07:48:50 pm »
This is a poor answer but it depends. Metal on metal and most things I prefer a thin cyanoacrylate and depending on how fiddly the small parts, an accelerant as needed.

For attaching figures on bases or working with scenery, pvc white glue. Also for tacking figures on craft sticks for painting.

For building resin models, cyanoacrylate  but for plastic (as in Dropfleet or GW Blood Bowl) I prefer a thin plastic brush on glue.

I'm not big on gap filling glue preferring instead to use brush on green stuff and then sand/file etc.

Fracas

• Lieutenant Commander
  • Number of Times Thanked: 33
    • View Profile
    • Warmancer
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2017, 09:20:46 pm »
Loctite
Firestorm: Aquan, Directorate, Retholza, Hawker (FsA)/ Terran (FsPf), RSN (FsA)/ Dindrenzi (FsPf)
DW: EotBS, FSA, PLC.
Warmaster: Kislev, Khemri, Dwarves,
BFG: Pacification Fleet (IN), Tau Expeditionary (SG), Battlefleet (Chaos), Kher-Ys Corsairs, Crusade Fleet (IN),
LotR: Khand, Gondor, Mordor

Ruckdog

• Administrator
  • Admiral
  • Number of Times Thanked: 189
  • Dive! Dive!
    • View Profile
    • Man Battlestations!
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2017, 03:56:16 pm »
I use two basic types of glues for 99% of my modeling: