Author Topic: captain rockman's introduction  (Read 2578 times)

captainrockman

• Lieutenant
  • Number of Times Thanked: 0
    • View Profile
captain rockman's introduction
« on: January 26, 2015, 07:51:27 pm »
Hello!

I am new to Denver, and very new to Dystopian Wars. So far, I only have the rulebook (1.1).  I have been reading the rules and researching teams. At this point, I am most interested in the Lithuanian Commonwealth, the Russian Coalition, and the Prussian Empire. However, my reasoning for liking these teams is largely based on liking the models, and not necessarily the tactics each team uses.

I am not opposed to trying out Firestorm either.

I can play Monday through Friday after 3 pm, and anytime on Saturdays and Sundays. I don't have a store that I go to consistently, and would be happy to meet people anywhere in the Denver and Colorado Springs areas.

I would love to play ASAP, but until I pick a force I may need to borrow some models if possible.

Questions:

Are the tactics for teams very different? It is hard to tell without having played a game yet.

Are people playing only naval battles, or are they getting into air and/or armoured battles as well?

I also play Warhammer Fantasy and have armies for Dwarfs, Night Goblins, and Wood Elves (minus the Elves).

Landlubber

• Administrator
  • Admiral
  • Number of Times Thanked: 63
    • View Profile
Re: captain rockman's introduction
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2015, 11:37:20 pm »
Captain Rockman-

Again, welcome to Man Battlestations, and as a recent transplant here myself, welcome to Denver!

First things first: Dystopian Wars is now on version 2.0. The 1.1 rulebook will give you a good basis for the game, as most of the basic mechanics are the same, but you'll need the 2.0 rules at some point. Spartan Games has said they'll make the rulebook free to download from their resources page, which can be found here:

http://www.spartangames.co.uk/resources/downloads